By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Minister Coveney presents Certificates to students of Clonakilty College

The Minister for Agriculture, Food and the Marine, Simon Coveney, TD presented Certificates to graduates of Teagasc further education programmes at an event in Clonakilty College today.

A total of 162 students from 10 counties were awarded Certificates in Agriculture education and in Dairy Herd Management representing the largest group of students graduating from Clonakilty in a given year. Presenting the Certificates, Minister Coveney paid tribute to the students. "These Certificates are in recognition of the enormous efforts you've all made in achieving excellent results from your studies. Today is the culmination of many years of hard work and dedication and all of you should be rightly proud of your achievements".

The Minister thanked the staff of Clonakilty College for delivering top class education and training courses in the Southwest region and said he was greatly impressed with the College facilities and the range of courses offered. He acknowledged their commitment to working in partnership with other education providers in the region and welcomed the partnership arrangements with Cork Institute of Technology and the Institute of Technology in Tralee.  He went on to say that he "was heartened to see the continuing positivity toward agricultural education" and concluded his remarks by acknowledging the exceptional job Teagasc education personnel do each year in catering for over 2,000 students and nearly 10,000 adult learners.

Note for editors

Teagasc is the state agency responsible for the delivery of education, research and advisory services to the agriculture and food sector. They are the main provider of further education course in agriculture, food, horticulture, forestry and equine studies through a network of 7 Agricultural Colleges, regional education centres and local offices.

Date Released: 09 November 2012