By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Minister of State McEntee presents the RDS/Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards 2011

Shane McEntee TD, Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture, Food and the Marine with responsibility for Forestry, has presented the 2011 RDS / Forest Service Irish Forestry Awards at Farmleigh House.

The Irish Forestry Awards, now in their 24th year, recognise and reward forest owners who employ the principles of Sustainable Forest Management on their properties. The two main categories for which awards are presented are the Farm Forestry category and the Bio-Diverse Forest/Woodlands category.

Speaking at the Awards Ceremony, the Minister highlighted the very significant role that forestry plays in our economy and society in general, noting that "our forests are an extremely valuable and sustainable resource, which form the foundation of an indigenous Irish industry that supports many thousands of jobs. That industry is also playing its part in the country's export performance through its exports of timber and timber products."

The Minister also took the opportunity to announce that his Department would commence issuing financial approvals for 1,500 hectares of new forestry planting for the current autumn planting season. "I know that the sector have been awaiting this announcement and I am pleased that we have been able to facilitate this additional planting."

The winner of the Farm Forestry category was Mr. Michael Murphy, Clonmel, Co. Tipperary.  In the Bio-Diverse Woodlands category, the winner was Mr. Jack Tennison, Castleblaney, Co. Monaghan. Awards were also made to the runners-up in the main categories and to provincial winners. The judging panel also made a discretionary "Special Judges Award" to Mr. John Jackson, Donegal.

In offering his congratulations to all the winners of the 2011 Awards, Minister McEntee said "Tonight's Awards ceremony is a chance to show our appreciation for those who have displayed the high standards of forest planting and management required to be successful in this competition.  I hope that their efforts will be viewed as an example to others in managing our forest resources for the future and for a profitable and sustainable forest industry."

Photo PR 213/11 - 21.10.11

Left to right - Shane McEntee - Minister of State, Department of Agriculture Food and the Marine, Aine Buchanan -,wife of Ross see below, Anne Hyde - wife of Michael see below, Ross Buchanan  - Best New Entrant Farm Forestry & Ulster Provincial Winner, Michael Hyde Best New Bio-Diverse & Munster Provincial Winner, Helen Hennessy - wife of Bryan see below, Bryan Hennessy Runner up Bio-diverse woodlands, Catherine Murphy wife of Michael see below, Patrick Murphy (son of winner Michael) Farm Forestry, Beth Jackson wife of John, John Jackson Winner Judges' Special Award, Jack Tenison Winner Bio Diverse Woodlands, Daryn Dunne, Victor Dunne Runner up Farm Forestry, Patrick Lynch Leinster Certificate of Merit Receipient, Margaret Lynch, Seamus Dunne, Fonsie Mealy RDS President

PR 213/11 - 21.10.11

Left to right - John Jackson, Jim Flanagan RDS Committee of Agriculture Chairman, Catherine Murphy, Patrick Murphy, Jack Tenison, Minister McEntee

PR 213/11 - 21.10.11

Left to right - Minister Shane McEntee, Ross Buchanan, Aine Buchanan

PR 213/11 - 21.10.2011

Left to right - Patrick Murphy, Catherine Murphy, Minister Shane McEntee


Date Released: 21 October 2011