By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Minister Cuffe Announces Composition of Horticulture Action Group

The Minister of State for Horticulture, Ciarán Cuffe TD, has announced the establishment of a Horticulture Action Group to oversee the implementation of the relevant recommendations relating to Horticulture in the Food Harvest 2020 Report.

Membership of the Group, representing the various sectors of the horticulture industry, comprises:

Mr Kieran Dunne, Nursery Stock producer
Ms Caroline Keeling, Wholesaler and Protected Crop producer
Mr John Hogan, Field Vegetable producer
Ms Lavinia Walsh, Mushroom producer
Mr Maurice Whelton, Potato producer
Mr Mike Neary, An Bord Bia
Mr Jim O'Mahony, Teagasc and
Mr Gabriel Roe, Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

The remit of the Group is to focus in specific terms on the implementation of the particular recommendations in the 2020 Report relating to Horticulture and to also consider other general farm and agriculture industry level recommendations. The Group will report back to the High Level Implementation Group, which has been set up under the overall chairmanship of the Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food Brendan Smith TD.

The Minister stated that: "the Horticultural industry has considerable potential to develop but is also facing significant challenges and that he looked forward to the Group progressing the implementation of the 2020 Food Harvest Report".

Minister Cuffe will inaugurate the first meeting of the Group on 2 December 2010.

Date Released: 30 November 2010