By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Minister Coughlan Announces Membership of Her Department's Consumer Liaison Panel

The Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Mary Coughlan TD, today announced the reconstitution of her Department's Consumer Liaison Panel (CLP). Minister Coughlan said that she has considered the operation of the Panel in the past and has decided to widen its membership in order to maximise the level of input and feedback into the activities of the Department especially having regard to the increased attention on food production and agri-environmental matters.

"The Consumer Liaison Panel has been engaged in very effective work on behalf of the consumer since it was established in 2002. In order to ensure that my Department remains receptive to the views of consumers especially having regard to the fact that the consumer is now at the centre of policy for the development of agriculture and food, I have decided to reconstitute the Panel."

Minister Coughlan added that the terms of reference of the Panel are to liaise on general consumer and client issues in relation to the activities of the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and to comment on the flow of information both to and from the public.

The Minister said her intention was that the Panel will meet at least every three months to raise issues of consumer concern directly with the Department and to be briefed on current Department activities. Minister Coughlan added that the term of the new Panel will be two years. The new panel is comprised of general consumers or persons with particular consumer interests.


Mark Cagney Chairman
Kenny Jacobs Nominated by Tesco
Valerie Rice Nominated by Superquinn
Tara Buckley Nominated by RGDATA
Gerry McCormack Nominated by SIPTU
Richard Donoghue Nominated by Consumers' Association of Ireland
Carmel Dawson Nominated by Irish Countrywomens Association
Maeve Dineen Minister's nominee
John McGrath Minister's nominee
Maírín Uí Chomáin Minister's nominee
Jackie Spillane Minister's nominee
Gary Brown Minister's nominee
Andy Irving Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food

5 May 2008

Date Released: 06 May 2008