By using this website, you consent to our use of cookies. For more information on cookies see our privacy policy page.

Text Size: a a
Home A-Z Index Subscribe/RSS Contact Us Twitter logo small white bird

Minister Coughlan Announces €533 Million Advance Payments From 16 October Under the 2007 Single Payments Scheme

The Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Mary Coughlan T.D., today announced the commencement of 50% advance payments under the 2007 Single Payment Scheme.

"I am particularly pleased that these payments, worth in excess of €533 million, have begun issuing today to some 113,500 farmers" the Minister said. She pointed out that the payments are being made six weeks earlier than would otherwise be the case as a result of the successful outcome of her request to Commissioner Fischer Boel for an advance payment in 2007 in response to the bad weather situation over the summer and the resultant farmer cash flow needs.Minister Coughlan confirmed that advance payments would continue issuing up until 30 November, with balancing payments issuing from 1 December. "While payments will continue to issue as individual cases become clear, I would again urge anybody who has received correspondence from my Department highlighting problems in relation to their application, to respond without delay as, by doing so, those cases can then be processed to finality and payments issued" the Minister said.

The Minister noted that these payments follow the payments under the Disadvantaged Areas Scheme, which began three weeks ago. "To date, over €231 million has been paid out under DAS, to about 94,000 farmers" the Minister said. "DAS payments continue to issue as cases are cleared and, again, I would urge farmers to respond to outstanding correspondence. In order to facilitate those farmers with specific queries relating to their SPS/DAS payments, I have had dedicated Lo-call numbers allocated in my Department" she added.

These Lo-call numbers are as follows:

 1890 252 235:  Clare, Cavan and Limerick;
 1890 252 236:  Cork, Westmeath;
 1890 252 242:  Kildare, Laois, Leitrim, Longford, Waterford and Wicklow;
 1890 252 243:  Carlow, Kilkenny, Louth, Monaghan, and Sligo;
 1890 252 244:  Donegal, Dublin, Offaly and Wexford;
 1890 200 502:  Galway, Kerry, Mayo, Meath and Roscommon;
 1890 250 598:  Tipperary;
 1890 252 240:  Consolidation;
 1890 200 560:  Trading and Transfer of Entitlements;
 1890 252 051:  National Reserve;
 1890 252 611:  Unresolved 2005 Cases.

16 October, 2007

Date Released: 16 October 2007